

1884, sets the number of time zones in the world at 24, each zone ideally extending over one twenty-fourth of the surface of the earth and including all the territory between two meridians 15° of longitude apart. In practice, the zone boundaries are quite irregular for geographic and political reasons. Universal Time (UT) is the time of the zone centred on the zero meridian through Greenwich. Each of the other time zones is a definite number of hours ahead of or behind UT to a total of 12 hours, at which limit the international date-line runs roughly north-south through the mid-Pacific.

Canada has six time zones, the most easterly being Newfoundland Standard Time, three hours and 30 minutes behind UT, and the most westerly Pacific Standard Time, eight hours behind UT. In between, from east to west, the remaining zones are called Atlantic, Eastern, Central and Mountain. On October 28, 1973, the nine hour Western Yukon Time Zone was eliminated by order of the Yukon Territorial Council, placing the entire Yukon eight hours behind UT.

Legal authority for the time zones. Time in Canada has been considered a matter of provincial rather than federal jurisdiction. Each of the provinces and territories has enacted laws governing the standard time to be used within its boundaries. These laws determine the location of the time zone boundaries. Lines of communication, however, have sometimes caused communities near the boundary of a time zone to adopt the time of the adjacent zone, and in most cases these changes are acknowledged by amendments to provincial legislation. During the two World Wars, there were federal enactments concerning time but these were of temporary duration. In 1941 the time determined at the Dominion Observatory was designated as official time for Dominion official purposes. On April 1, 1970, this responsibility was transferred to the National Research Council.

Daylight saving time. Although Daylight Saving Time had been urged in many quarters before World War I, its first use in Canada came as a federal war measure in 1918. Today most of the provinces have legislation controlling the provincial or municipal adoption (or rejection) of